...and now I'm feeling *really* old
Oct. 3rd, 2014 10:59 amI had to buy a new computer this week. The old one, a MacBook Pro hand-me-down from a friend, has always had issues with its fan and overheating, but it's started to shut down spontaneously more often while I'm working, and the battery won't hold a charge, and the power cord doesn't consistently supply power, and earlier this week it all came to a head and I decided it's finally gone from "inconvenient" to "preventing me from getting work done." Hence my first brand-new computer since 2006.
And Windows 8.
I don't have smart phone or a tablet of any sort, so the new interface really threw me. Is this what devices look like these days? Would everything make more sense if I knew how to operate a smart phone or bought a computer with a touchscreen? A few hours of experimentation and I think I've got the basics down, but I'm feeling absolutely *ancient.* I'd anticipated some hiccups in switching from a mac back to a PC, sure, and a period of getting used to a new keyboard, but the interface is going to take some getting used to.
Question: does anyone else find themselves worried about the login to their computer matching the login to an e-mail account? I feel as if those two things ought to be separate--if my account is hacked, can I not login to my own computer? I didn't see an option for logging in as a guest or a local user when I first set up--and then I downloaded about twenty four thousand items from Dropbox, ergh, which is going to make correcting that mistake very awkward, I suspect.
Two more welcome fandom distractions!
*
hp_halloween is back! So excited about this fest--it's quick and dirty and fun, fun, fun, requiring only a 200-word double drabble by the end of the month. Head on over here to sign up. You've got until October 11.
* It's diversity awareness month over at
hp_diversity. There'll be character-of-color recs posted every other day. Should be fun!
And, of course, a reminder that
rs_small_gifts is back again, too, with sign-ups beginning October 11 and claiming on October 18. The lovely
swissmarg made us some icons and banners, which are coming up soon...
And Windows 8.
I don't have smart phone or a tablet of any sort, so the new interface really threw me. Is this what devices look like these days? Would everything make more sense if I knew how to operate a smart phone or bought a computer with a touchscreen? A few hours of experimentation and I think I've got the basics down, but I'm feeling absolutely *ancient.* I'd anticipated some hiccups in switching from a mac back to a PC, sure, and a period of getting used to a new keyboard, but the interface is going to take some getting used to.
Question: does anyone else find themselves worried about the login to their computer matching the login to an e-mail account? I feel as if those two things ought to be separate--if my account is hacked, can I not login to my own computer? I didn't see an option for logging in as a guest or a local user when I first set up--and then I downloaded about twenty four thousand items from Dropbox, ergh, which is going to make correcting that mistake very awkward, I suspect.
Two more welcome fandom distractions!
*
* It's diversity awareness month over at
And, of course, a reminder that
no subject
Date: 2014-10-03 04:06 pm (UTC)download another browser asap, so you have an alternative to InternetExplorer - it still has issues with many sites.
as fara as your machine password, the most important thing is that is is ded memorable. the likelihood of you leaving 'puter in airport and hacker breaking in are small. email much more likely to be hacked.
I use a password manager now since I have hundreds to keep track of - clients, systems, sites, blogs, agh! so my pws are wonderfully secure gibberish. except for my computer logon. that I have to recall even if I have a concussion!
but use something tighter for Dropbox, email. longer, odd characters & numbers and tell a story so you have unrelated words. like: "rabbit$4iceland"
oh, and congratulations on the new beast! leaping ahead 6 years you have so much more capability under your hands, go forth and enjoy!
no subject
Date: 2014-10-15 01:02 am (UTC)Thanks for the password advice--I'm working on it!
And thanks for the congrats! I was cranky about it last week because the old computer gave out while I was under a deadline, and so it wasn't a leisurely transition, but now that I'm settled in, I'm impressed at how much computing power even a low-end machine like mine has nowadays. And battery life! I haven't been able to work without plugging in since 2008 or so. I downloaded a fic and read it on the bus ride home this weekend, which was just delightful! M.
no subject
Date: 2014-10-05 09:47 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2014-10-15 12:58 am (UTC):) And you're still light-years ahead of me. I haven't even learned how to text.
Solitaire and fic on the phone sound rather nice, actually.
And I *am* getting use to it, these past few days. It's too bad all the learning happened while I was under a deadline, but now I have some time to research the things that don't seem to make sense... M
no subject
Date: 2014-10-15 02:25 am (UTC)I have to admit I'm a little surprised by that. Then again, I mostly text Mum (like, 90% of my texts) and we started doing it years ago as a cheaper way to stay in contact (mobile phone calls on our prepaid plans are/were around 70c/min, so 17c a text message was more practical for little "leaving now, home in an hour" type messages).
So adoption of the media probably depends on who you contact with the phone. I know my aunt basically doesn't text. If you text her, she'll always call back.
Solitaire and fic on the phone sound rather nice, actually.
Oh, man, it's a fantastic time-waster. Also really nice to play on at the end of the night while lying in bed. I can read fic if I'm feeling up to the effort (I have a Windows phone, so I'm using the "Freda" app. If I download AO3 stuff in ePub form, I can open it on Freda and read it in decent sized font. Plus, there's a night setting of green text on dark background that's perfect for reading in a dark bedroom.) or play cards if I want something mindless and repetitive.
The downside is that I don't reach for my laptop as much for recreation, which kind of leads to no writing. But the upside is instant entertainment.
no subject
Date: 2014-10-15 02:56 am (UTC)I've heard this from various folks--that the convenience of the smaller devices means people use them more and get on the laptop or desktop for writing or comments less frequently. But reading under the covers at night sounds delicious. Are you reading more fic, do you think?
And we have the opposite situation with our phone plan--a limited number of minutes are free, but texting costs. I think I'd love texting if we had a different plan--I like the option of communicating without actually talking. :) M.
no subject
Date: 2014-10-15 04:50 am (UTC)Absolutely. It possibly hasn't been good for my bedtimes (usually, I aim for in bed by 9pm and sleeping by 10pm, but with fic so easy to access, it's snuck up to 11pm - 12pm), but it's been great to read fic. I've been on a bit of an SV and SGA reading kick -- rediscovering stories I once loved -- but...
Hmmm. Maybe the lack of writing isn't entirely the phone's fault. I don't think I've been bothered to turn the laptop on at night for a few months -- I'm not much of a morning person, I work all day, and weekends are usually house + garden + collapse in front of the TV -- so fannish time just dwindled to minutes stolen at work and/or during lunches.